Your step by step guide to easy tasseography | Ruby the Witch

Ruby Wildflower
3 min readMar 7, 2018
tasseography and coffee cup readings

Here’s how to do tasseography. Also known as coffee scrying. Firstly, brew your coffee overnight being sure to source ethically traded beans that have been handpicked according to your zodiac sign.

Kidding. I’m a full blown modern witch that lives life in 2019 and am busy as shit. So, as my Nespresso machine heats up, I set an intention as to what I want my coffee to reveal or shed some insight on.

Often, because of the irony of not having had my first coffee yet, I can’t quite cogitate a reasonable request. So, I set an intention of ‘please tell me what I need to know today.’ Which is technically asking for trouble in the form of a full blown mythological story in one cup. Two monsters, one cup, amirite?

Tasseography symbols

Be sure to look for symbols, images, stories, anything meaningful TO YOU in the cup.

To me, the symbols are obvious. Both upon pour in the froth/crème and or when the cup has been drained and there are some coffee stains and residue left at the bottom or around the sides. I continue to hold the same intention as I drink the cup. You might even discover a linear narrative from first symbols to bottom of the cup images — that could be quite the journey and you MUST tell me about it.

--

--

Ruby Wildflower
0 Followers

A red witch that snacks on creativity and feeds on mysticism.